الإجازات الرسمية

Public Holidays

There are 15 annual public holidays In Mauritius. Seven of these are fixed holidays: 1st and 2nd January; 1st February; 12th March; 1st May; 2nd November; and 25th December. The remaining public holidays are religious festivals with dates that vary from year to year.
 

Date Day Holidays - 2022
1st&2nd January Sat, Sun New Year's Day
18th January Tues Thaipoosam Cavedee
1st February Tues Abolition of Slavery
1st February Tues Chinese Spring Festival
1st March Tues Maha Shivratree
12th March Sat Independence and Republic Day
2nd April Sat Ugaadi
1st May Sun Labour Day
3rd May* Tues Eid-Ul-Fitr
15th August Mon Assumption of the blessed Virgin Mary
1st September Thurs Ganesh Chaturthi
24th October Mon Diwali
2nd November Wed Arrival of indentured laborers
25th December Sun Christmas

 


NOTE: Muslim festivals are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon. The dates given above are therefore approximations. During the lunar month of Ramadan that precedes Eid al-Fitr, Muslims fast during the day and feast at night. Normal business patterns may be interrupted as a result. Many restaurants are closed during the day and there may be restrictions on smoking and drinking in other locations. Some disruption may continue into Eid al-Fitr itself. Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha may last anything from two to ten days, depending on the region.

Discover More
DISCOVER MORE
Our Regions
Our Top 10
@mauritius.tourism